Abandon by Meg Cabot (Abandon #1)

cabot_abandonPierce Oliviera, daughter of bird-lover environmentalist mom and BP-executive dad, is different from most girls because she’s died, and lived, to tell about it.  Only, when she came back after drowning in her family’s pool, she couldn’t tell her family what REALLY happened during those 20 minutes because no-one would ever believe her… would they?

When Pierce dies, she meets John, a man she once met at the tender age of seven at a funeral. John is in charge of the Underworld processing center beneath Isla Huesos, but he’s also lonely. So when he finds Pierce, dead at fifteen, he invites her to stay with him. Pierce isn’t ready to stay dead yet and when she comes back to life, she still has a magical diamond necklace John gave her that changes colors (like mood rings) when danger’s abroad.

Danger follows Pierce wherever she goes and John isn’t far behind. Something called “The Furies”, spirits angered by their eternal resting places, may be after her too. John warned Pierce there would be consequences.  Now, at a new school where everyone seems to have abandonment issues (get it?) a string of deaths follow her, affecting those she loves.  With a hurricane a-brewing, and the murder of a school counsellor, more than Pierce’s life may be at stake … it may also be  where she spends eternity.

Fun Fact: Each chapter begins with a quote from Dante Alighieri’s Inferno.

The second book in the series, Underworld, is set to be released on May 8, 2012 by Point.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s