JAFF, Romance
Leave a Comment

Attempting Elizabeth by Jessica Grey

grey_attempting-elizabeth

Kelsey Edmundson has had her own encounter with a Mr. Wickham in her love life, so she rejects the idea of a quickie rebound, especially if it’s Ricky, her best friend’s boyfriend’s friend, or that hottie Aussie bartender at the club, Mark Barnes. Turning to her favorite Austen novel, Pride and Prejudice, to drown her sorrows, Kelsey gets sucked into the fictional world of Pride and Prejudice, just not as Lizzy. Will dallying inside one of the world’s greatest love stories help her rewrite her own?

Gray, a Janeite and girl geek if I ever heard of one, infuses her novel with sexy literary lingo to make a literature (or an anthropology) major’s heart go pitter pater and each quote starting the chapter is an unspoken invitation to guess what book or film it’s from – one girl geek to another.

On the romantic scale, Kelsey and Mark’s relationship is definitely hot, but it’s nice to read a love story that doesn’t involve consummating their passion. A little bit Amanda Price, a little bit Miss Erstwhile (in sort of a the heck with it, let’s make it happen!) this novel is fun, over way too soon and shakes things up with a mid-novel plot twist that I never saw coming. Recommended for fans of Lost in Austen, Austenland and Pride and Prejudice.

Rating: 3.5 stars

This entry was posted in: JAFF, Romance

by

Lauren Miller is a Midwestern born writer with a passion for Jesus, the written word, and dogs. She has seventeen years of experience in the library field and reviews books for the Historical Novels Review (UK). Lauren is the Managing Web Editor and writer for The Scribe, a web publication of the St. Louis Writers Guild, where she also serves as their Director of Communications. She likes to spend her free time enjoying period films, discovering new reads, and being surrounded by other people’s pets. Lauren, her husband, and their wily Maine Coon (who isn’t quite a dog) live in Missouri. You can learn more about Lauren’s writing at LaurenJoanMiller.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s