The Mysteries of the Rosary

​When you pray the Rosary, you are connecting with Christ. You are using a visual aid (the Rosary) to inspire reflection on the life and nature of Christ.

The Joyful Mysteries

On Mondays and Saturdays, Catholics reflect on the life of Mary, and the events leading up to Christ’s birth and His early childhood (the Joyful Mysteries).

1st Joyful Mystery: The Annunciation by the Angel Gabriel

2nd Joyful Mystery: The Visitation of Elizabeth by Mary

3rd Joyful Mystery: The Nativity of Our Lord

4th Joyful Mystery: The Presentation of Baby Jesus

5th Joyful Mystery: The Finding of Young Jesus in the Temple

The Luminous Mysteries

On Thursdays, the Rosary is a meditation on some of Christ’s miracles and His early ministry, leading up to the Last Supper, (the Luminous Mysteries).

1st Luminous Mystery: Baptism of Christ

2nd Luminous Mystery: Wedding at Cana

3rd Luminous Mystery: Proclamation of the Kingdom of God

4th Luminous Mystery: Transfiguration

5th Luminous Mystery: Institution of the Holy Eucharist

The Sorrowful Mysteries

On Tuesdays and Fridays, the Rosary is a meditation and a reflection on the events of Good Friday, beginning with the Garden when Jesus is betrayed, leading up to His crucifixion (the Sorrowful Mysteries).

1st Sorrowful Mystery: The Agony in the Garden

2nd Sorrowful Mystery: The Scourging

3rd Sorrowful Mystery: Crowning with Thorns

4th Sorrowful Mystery: Carrying of the Cross

5th Sorrowful Mystery: The Crucifixion

The Glorious Mysteries

On Wednesdays and Sundays, the Rosary meditations are a celebration of Christ’s resurrection and ascension, the events of the early Church, and Mary’s life of obedience to God, rewarded at the end of her earthly life (the Glorious Mysteries).

1st Glorious Mystery: The Resurrection

2nd Glorious Mystery: The Ascension

3rd Glorious Mystery: The Descent of the Holy Spirit

4th Glorious Mystery: The Assumption

5th Glorious Mystery: The Coronation